Sunday, December 11, 2005

As the world turns and the Who-Dey went silent...

Something happened today that hasn't happened in 15 years, and many of us wondered if it would ever happen again: The Cincinnati Bengals won the AFC North Division and clinched their first playoff berth since 1990. The last time the Bengals were in the playoffs:

The Bengals were in a different division, one that is no more in the football world, the AFC Central.

That division consisted of the Bengals, the Cleveland Browns, the Pittsburgh Steelers, and the Houston Oilers.

The Bengals' last playoff victory came against the Oilers. This is a team that, on paper, no longer exists.

The team then known as the Cleveland Browns is now in Baltimore, and are known as the Ravens. They are still owned by the man who is reviled in every part of the State of Ohio as if he were Lucifer himself-Art Modell.

The old Browns (now Ravens) were replaced with a 2nd Edition that officially gets to inherit all of the records of the old Browns. The Ravens had to start from scratch.

In 1990, the Jacksonville Jaguars, Carolina Panthers, Tennessee Titans, and Houston Texans did not exist, and had you mentioned them to a football fan, the likely response would have been something along the lines of: "Do what?"

The Titans are what the Oilers became, the Ravens are what the Browns became...only sort of.

George Bush was President of the United States. The Congress of the United States was dominated numerically by one party, the Democrats.

While the world has turned, the Bengals have stunk...until this year.



Post a Comment

<< Home

Locations of visitors to this page
Profile Visitor Map - Click to view visits
Create your own visitor map